FAQ

Voice mailbox: How do I secure the remote access against manipulation?

Hackers always use the same method: they are looking for companies whose PBX has an integrated voicemail function (answering machine) in order to manipulate it via remote access. All PBXs that have been recently manipulated showed poor security measures such as insecure PINs. Auerswald PBXs have sufficient security mechanisms. But they have to be used!

Therefore, please follow the following recommendations to protect your Auerswald PBX against such attacks:

  1. The admin PIN, the user PIN or the voice mailbox PIN can be used for the remote access. Do not make it easy for the attacker and use complex PINs (The PINs in the PBXs consist of six digits. Number sequences such as "123456" or "111111" or birthdays are NOT secure. It makes more sense to use random number sequences.
  2. If possible, use the blocking functions for incoming calls (e.g. block calls from abroad).
  3. It is more secure to use message forwarding via email and to disable the remote access.
  4. For outgoing calls, prefixes (010…) in order to make the call cheaper are often used so that the protections of the Telekom (detection of high costs in a short time) are not effective. You can secure your PBX by using the blocking functions for outgoing calls (e.g. for calls that begin with 010).
Clever Ideas

FAQ

Voicemailbox: Wie sichere ich die Fernabfrage gegen eine Manipulation ab?

Die Hacker gehen immer nach der gleichen Methode vor: Sie suchen nach Unternehmen, deren Telefonanlage eine integrierte Voicemail-Funktion (Anrufbeantworter) besitzt, um diese ĂĽber die Fernabfrage zu manipulieren. Alle Anlagen, die in letzter Zeit manipuliert worden sind, wiesen schlechte Sicherungsvorkehrungen wie z. B. unsichere PINs auf. In Auerswald TK-Anlagen gibt es ausreichende Sicherheitsmechanismen. Sie mĂĽssen aber genutzt werden!

 

 

Bitte beachten Sie daher unbedingt folgende Empfehlungen, um Ihre Auerswald Telefonanlage gegen solche Angriffe abzusichern:

 

  1. Für die Fernabfrage können die Admin-PIN, die Benutzer-PIN oder die PIN für die Voicemailbox genutzt werden. Machen Sie es dem Angreifer nicht leicht und vergeben komplexe PINs (Die PINs in den Anlagen bestehen aus sechs Ziffern. Ziffernfolgen wie „123456“ oder „111111“ sind NICHT sicher! Geburtstage übrigens auch nicht wirklich. Sinnvoller sind zufällige Ziffernfolgen.).
  2. Nutzen Sie, wenn irgend möglich, die Sperrfunktionen für eingehende Rufe (z. B. Ausland sperren).
  3. Es ist sicherer, die Nachrichtenweiterleitung per E-Mail zu nutzen und die Fernabfrage zu deaktivieren.
  4. Es werden abgehend gerne Sparvorwahlen (010…) eingesetzt, sodass die Schutzmechanismen der Telekom (Erkennung hohes Gebührenaufkommen in zu kurzer Zeit) nicht greifen. Sie können Ihre Anlage sichern, indem Sie die Sperrfunktionen für ausgehende Rufe nutzen (z. B. für Rufe, die mit 010 beginnen).